Forum-Gallery-Shop-Sponsors

« Advertise on Freel2.com

Home > In Car Electronics > XTRONS PA77DLRPL
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 11 of 12 <123 ... 101112>
Print this entire topic · 
radegeddon



Member Since: 07 Nov 2019
Location: Szobotkaro
Posts: 3

Yugoslavia 2009 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Auto Lago Grey

Could this sort out the steering wheel controls?

For FL2 with fiber optics:
https://www.ebay.de/itm/CTSLR010-2-Lenkrad...SwIvBcHjjf

For FL2 without FO:
https://www.ebay.de/itm/Connects2-CTSLR006...Swiu5bPjWB

The price difference is huuuge!

The shop is in UK, London, perhaps someone could call them and inquire, as I am not from the UK.

Post #380933 8th Nov 2019 4:03 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Germplus1



Member Since: 19 Jul 2019
Location: London
Posts: 33

United Kingdom 2008 Freelander 2 TD4 SE Auto Baltic Blue

Sent them a message. Will wait for their reply.

Also I found a cheaper option. Below. Have messaged them as well to see what they say.

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=ht...1375739359

Post #380935 8th Nov 2019 4:31 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
bnicho



Member Since: 24 Jun 2016
Location: Victoria
Posts: 51

Australia 2007 Freelander 2 TD4 GS Manual Sumatra Black

Does the xtrons Freelander 2 unit have an SWC input? Maybe it doesn't even have the wiring/socket? I know the universal double-din Xtrons units do. Brett Nicholson
Greendale, Victoria
2007 Freelander 2 GS ex-UK now in Aus!
1973 Land Rover Series 3 88 ex-UK
1965 Morris Mini Traveller ex-UK
1966 Austin Mini Super-Deluxe ex-UK
1971 Morris Mini Moke
2013 Toyota Prado

Post #380950 8th Nov 2019 10:36 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
hayward82



Member Since: 07 Nov 2019
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 6

England 
PA79DLRIPL installation

Hi All,
Brand new to the forum and some very useful information on here.
Ive just brought an Xtron android 9 for my 2008 FL2 which was advertised as a plug and play swap.
This is to replace the current factory fitted sat nav already in there, So i have seen some threads with issues relating to the fibre optic and possible fixes however when trying to swap these units over today i have 3 connectors from the existing sat nav with no place to go Neutral
I know this is a tiring job teaching people to learn new tricks but your help will be forever appreciated.

I can post pictures if this helps.

Post #380975 9th Nov 2019 4:57 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
andyk159



Member Since: 19 Nov 2014
Location: Skegby
Posts: 228

United Kingdom 2010 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Auto Stornoway Grey

You should have 2 orange fibre optic cables. these need to be connected together with a MOST shunt. Part no LR019014 to ensure electronics work with sat nav screen removed.
You should then have a patch cable to connect inbetween existing head unit and car harness. This supplies power to xtrons and connects in to aux input so you can play from xtrons to existing car audio using aux in function.

That should be the main connections. apart from GPS and wifi antennas Andy
Freelander2 HSE (59 Plate, MY10 spec)
Stornoway Grey with Almond leather interior.
Evoque '506' 18" wheels with Pirelli Scorpion Verde tyres.
Colour coded Door Handles and side trim.

Post #380984 9th Nov 2019 6:56 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Simon J



Member Since: 27 Jul 2019
Location: Norn Iron
Posts: 212

2008 Freelander 2 TD4 XS Auto Rimini Red

Can this Xtrons unit be set up with Apple CarPlay?

Post #381004 9th Nov 2019 11:13 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
hayward82



Member Since: 07 Nov 2019
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 6

England 

andyk159 wrote:
You should have 2 orange fibre optic cables. these need to be connected together with a MOST shunt. Part no LR019014 to ensure electronics work with sat nav screen removed.
You should then have a patch cable to connect inbetween existing head unit and car harness. This supplies power to xtrons and connects in to aux input so you can play from xtrons to existing car audio using aux in function.

That should be the main connections. apart from GPS and wifi antennas


Thanks very much Andy, I’ll get this piece ordered and go from there. I’ve had a little look and can see on EBay there are some fibre optic closed loops which describe a similar outcome, will these do the same job for what I need?

Post #381015 10th Nov 2019 9:59 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
petero



Member Since: 27 Jul 2017
Location: Tamworth, Staffs
Posts: 23

United Kingdom 2007 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Manual Sumatra Black

The ebay MOST shunts should be fine although I haven't tried one - I used the one mentioned above.
Whichever you use good luck and let us know how you get on Thumbs Up

Post #381056 10th Nov 2019 11:38 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
hayward82



Member Since: 07 Nov 2019
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 6

England 

Evening All

Just a quick update.... I received the fibre optic loop today which I ordered from eBay and connected as it should, everything seems to be working perfectly Smile had around an hours play with the unit and extremely pleased with the set-up, speed and movement.

Thanks again for the advice on this.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/MOST-fiber-opti...SwybZdSxnp

Post #381162 12th Nov 2019 9:11 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
riggzby



Member Since: 06 Mar 2020
Location: Horsham, Sussex
Posts: 3

United Kingdom 2009 Freelander 2 TD4_e XS Manual Galway Green

Hi all,

Just when you thought this thread was dead Rolling Eyes

Recently got a 2009 fl2 to cart the dog about in and have stuck one of these units in to replace the stock sat nav.

All seems to have gone fine barring some funky settings to the speaker settings - appears speakers in the rear doors are on the same channel as the front ones but I can live with that.

The bit which is starting to drive me nuts is the fact there doesn’t appear to be any automatic brightness controls. Using the unit at night is horrendously bright.

Does anyone know if the brightness should be connected to the light controls out of the box?

I’d be interested on hearing what launchers people have used too: agama and automate seem pretty good. Are there others I should try?

Cheers,
Simon

Post #387760 6th Mar 2020 8:21 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Simon J



Member Since: 27 Jul 2019
Location: Norn Iron
Posts: 212

2008 Freelander 2 TD4 XS Auto Rimini Red

Interesting observation, Simon - thank you. I haven't yet bought one but I had wondered about the brightness level. It will be interesting to see if there is a solution.

Out of curiosity, where did you buy it?

Post #387764 6th Mar 2020 10:31 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
riggzby



Member Since: 06 Mar 2020
Location: Horsham, Sussex
Posts: 3

United Kingdom 2009 Freelander 2 TD4_e XS Manual Galway Green

I’m guessing I’ve done something wrong with the wiring, but it’d but good to get it confirmed.

For the short term there is an app called twilight which you can use to dim the screen based on sunrise and sunset times, but it’s a pretty inelegant solution!

I got the unit from flea bay - seems to be the cheapest place for it plus nectar points (so this probably earned me one-billionth of a pence Rolling Eyes )

Post #387779 7th Mar 2020 10:04 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Simon J



Member Since: 27 Jul 2019
Location: Norn Iron
Posts: 212

2008 Freelander 2 TD4 XS Auto Rimini Red

Thanks, Simon. Let’s see if anyone has a solution.

Post #387781 7th Mar 2020 10:27 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Badger51



Member Since: 01 Mar 2014
Location: Coffs Harbour
Posts: 430

Australia 2008 Freelander 2 TD4 SE Auto Nazca Sand

Hi guys, just had a look at the specs & it does say "Image brightness adjustable" = Yes.

So there should be some way of dimming it.

Cheers,

Nick 2008 Freelander 2 (Nazca Sand) SE TD4 Auto
146000 Km as of 01/20
Superchips Bluefin Flash
Nanocom Evo II

Post #387811 7th Mar 2020 9:54 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Simon J



Member Since: 27 Jul 2019
Location: Norn Iron
Posts: 212

2008 Freelander 2 TD4 XS Auto Rimini Red

Indeed, it should be there somewhere.

Post #387815 7th Mar 2020 11:13 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Post Reply  Back to top
Page 11 of 12 <123 ... 101112>
All times are GMT + 1 Hour

Jump to  
Previous Topic | Next Topic >
Posting Rules
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Site Copyright © 2006-2020 Futuranet Ltd & Martin Lewis


Switch to Mobile site