Forum-Gallery-Shop-Sponsors

« Advertise on Freel2.com

Home > In Car Electronics > update satnav disc
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 2 of 2 <12
Print this entire topic · 
Boxbrownie



Member Since: 17 Mar 2019
Location: Looe
Posts: 872

United Kingdom 2007 Freelander 2 i6 HSE Auto Stornoway Grey

Me myself and I meant SatNav Shop...... Thumbs Up Regards

David

Please let me know if anything in my post offends you, as I may wish to offend you again......

Post #372071 14th May 2019 5:30 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Boxbrownie



Member Since: 17 Mar 2019
Location: Looe
Posts: 872

United Kingdom 2007 Freelander 2 i6 HSE Auto Stornoway Grey

OK.....just popped out to the poor old neglected Freely and removed the new disc and inserted the old 2007/08 version and a junction on the A11 at Elveden (the only place I know intimately) which has the new A11 junction section, and it’s obviously missing from the old disc, as expected.

New disc inserted again and checked the same area and Thumbs Up the junction and new road is all there, I think from my murky memory the junction and road there was completed in roughly 2013/4.......so from this extensive and very scientific (million’s of pounds spent) investigation it appears the discs from Satnavshop are indeed and decent update Thumbs Up

Oops, sorry about the grammar in this post, it’s been wine time for a while here today........bad news week. Regards

David

Please let me know if anything in my post offends you, as I may wish to offend you again......

Post #372075 14th May 2019 6:51 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
JulesK



Member Since: 07 Dec 2014
Location: Ceredigion.
Posts: 1284

Wales 2014 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Auto Firenze Red

Thanks for the scientific findings Thumbs Up do you have to leave your disc in then?

Sorry about bad news hope things improve.



Sheep If it wasn't so bad it'd be funny.

🐑
Freelander 2 HSE auto 2014 ( Florrie ) ..... Try again.
Freelander 2 GS 2012...... Gone.

Post #372082 15th May 2019 7:38 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Boxbrownie



Member Since: 17 Mar 2019
Location: Looe
Posts: 872

United Kingdom 2007 Freelander 2 i6 HSE Auto Stornoway Grey

Yes, disc is always in the DVD under the drivers seat, with the ignition on and engine off when you use the map location tool to find a location, ie use the “movement arrows” on screen to move across the country you can hear the disc reading very quietly under the seat, so definitely working its little socks off down there.

Thanks for the good wishes, we will know more tomorrow. Regards

David

Please let me know if anything in my post offends you, as I may wish to offend you again......

Post #372085 15th May 2019 8:16 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
JulesK



Member Since: 07 Dec 2014
Location: Ceredigion.
Posts: 1284

Wales 2014 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Auto Firenze Red

Ah, I have no disc slot under seat so believe it is loaded on the hard drive via cd slot. Someone will put me right no doubt Thumbs Up

POB LUC. If it wasn't so bad it'd be funny.

🐑
Freelander 2 HSE auto 2014 ( Florrie ) ..... Try again.
Freelander 2 GS 2012...... Gone.

Post #372089 15th May 2019 12:19 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
SouthamFL2



Member Since: 08 Jan 2019
Location: Banbury Borders
Posts: 432

United Kingdom 2013 Freelander 2 SD4 HSE Lux Auto Baltic Blue

It's done by USB installation JulesK, using the port inside your cubby box. Takes hours as well, though you can drive the vehicle as normal and start/stop...it will just resume when the engine next gets switched back on.

Don't pay more than £85 for the update either....they will need your VIN as the product is VIN-locked MY13 HSE Lux.......faultless since new.

Post #372091 15th May 2019 1:36 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
JulesK



Member Since: 07 Dec 2014
Location: Ceredigion.
Posts: 1284

Wales 2014 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Auto Firenze Red

Cheers for that, I've been searching on here as sure someone said I could put disc in cd player and it would do it through there. If it wasn't so bad it'd be funny.

🐑
Freelander 2 HSE auto 2014 ( Florrie ) ..... Try again.
Freelander 2 GS 2012...... Gone.

Post #372099 15th May 2019 5:41 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Boxbrownie



Member Since: 17 Mar 2019
Location: Looe
Posts: 872

United Kingdom 2007 Freelander 2 i6 HSE Auto Stornoway Grey

I am certain the CD slot on your model is purely related to the ICE system. Regards

David

Please let me know if anything in my post offends you, as I may wish to offend you again......

Post #372105 15th May 2019 7:03 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
SouthamFL2



Member Since: 08 Jan 2019
Location: Banbury Borders
Posts: 432

United Kingdom 2013 Freelander 2 SD4 HSE Lux Auto Baltic Blue

Indeed it is. The only thing that you can "rip/burn" are Audio CD's into the virtual Jukebox......maximum of 6 IIRC.... MY13 HSE Lux.......faultless since new.

Post #372107 15th May 2019 8:02 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Post Reply
Post Reply  Back to top
Page 2 of 2 <12
All times are GMT + 1 Hour

Jump to  
Previous Topic | Next Topic >
Posting Rules
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Site Copyright © 2006-2019 Futuranet Ltd & Martin Lewis


Switch to Mobile site