Home > Technical > Transfer box help
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
chopperdude

United Kingdom 
Transfer box help

Hi
I've not had my Freelander 2 for too long but it has developed a whine from the transfer box (its definitely the transfer box before some tells me its the diff, tyres or a wheel bearing) . I'm looking to remove and rebuild the transfer box but cannot find much information on the rebuilding of this. I would be very grateful for any information on this, mainly the torque settings for the pre load nut on the pinion side or if someone can advise me of a workshop manual that covers the rebuilding of the transfer box. I have a couple of manuals but they don't cover this. Thanks in advance if someone can help.

Post #330256 1st Sep 2017 10:55 pm
MRRover75

Norway 2007 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Manual Tambora Flame

Hi,

I have no experience or seen any documentation/procedure for the PTU/transfer box, but after reading around I have the impression that the pinion bearings have the same setup as the rear diff and also need the same/similar special tools to be done. I think most of these operations has been done under warranty by professionals for now, but more DIY information will probably be available as our cars gets older by the years as the owners will not be willing to pay what it costs in the garages.

Take a look at my DIY rear diff guide and the cross section shown here. It may give you some guidelines but not the final answers. I know that you should also pay attention to the splined connection between the gearbox and PTU as this has in some cases worn out/sheared off, leaving the car with no RWD.

https://www.freel2.com/forum/topic29814.html

Please share your experience with us, it will be a great help for the future DIY`s Very Happy
Good luck!

Post #330259 2nd Sep 2017 6:00 am
chopperdude

United Kingdom 

Hi