Home > Wheels & Tyres > Different tyres damage differential
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 3 123>
Print this entire topic · 
paxman

United Kingdom 2013 Freelander 2 TD4 XS Manual Orkney Grey
Different tyres damage differential

Hi all

My fl2 MY13 has 2 rear tyres @ Pirelli scopion zero M+S 235/60/R18 from factory, tread depth average 4mm. The 2 front tyres are new Landsail 235/60/R18 tread as new. Dealer replaced these 2 before delivery. I have done about 350 miles in total.

I am new to the 4x4 vehicle.
The title of the thread is my question please give answer based on your opinion and experience. Many thanks.

Last edited by paxman on 27th Apr 2015 5:57 pm. Edited 1 time in total

Post #261879 27th Apr 2015 8:55 am
thechopper79

2008 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Manual Indus Silver

Hi I don't know the answer to your question but for me I would always try and have matching tyres and good ones at that.

It always seems to make man sense to me that if I have spent x many thousands on a car then one area that shouldn't be scrimped on are what actually touches the ground otherwise your never really maximising the cars potential.

I'm sure someone more knowledgable will be along soon .......... Thumbs Up Current 2008 Freel2 HSE
Prev 2010 Freel2 GS & 57 Disco3 HSE

Post #261880 27th Apr 2015 9:11 am
RogB

England 2013 Freelander 2 SD4 HSE Lux Auto Santorini Black

As far as Im aware having different manufactures tyres between front and rear axles makes no difference to the handling etc and causes no damage to the drivetrain (other more mechanically minded on here may know different)

I believe though with 4x4 it is always better to try and change all 4 tyres at the same time (or at the very least in consecutive months if funds are tight)

The Landsail tyres may well wear at a faster rate on the front (being more budget oriented tyres and fitted to the mostly front drive axle),