Forum-Gallery-Shop-Sponsors

« Advertise on Freel2.com

Home > Technical > Anyone had their tyres filled with Nitrogen ??
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 2 of 2 <12
Print this entire topic · 
TexFreelander

United States 2008 LR2 i6 HSE Auto Rimini Red

lypsyl wrote:
£4 is worth it not to have to get your fingers dirty Wink

We drive Land Rovers, our fingers are supposed to be dirty lol.

It'll last longer yeah, I'll give you that, but when using an air compressor is free once every 6 months why not do that instead of 4 quid per year?

Also, by using an air compressor, keep in mind, 78% N that gives you a chance to inspect your tires personally, make sure you didn't hit a curb too hard or you might see a nail or thorn or something in there.

I work in the oil field so I inspect my tires about once a week on my work truck. I carry a gun because I can't carry a cop.
Ted Kennedy's car has killed more people than my gun.

2008 Freelander2/LR2
-Rimini Red

2005 Freelander
-Bonatti Gray
-EBC front brake rotors
-DAP-Inc. Lift
-BFGoodrich All Terrain RWL
-Muffler Delete
-CAI

Post #65861 8th Apr 2010 2:44 pm
Tandemman

England 2009 Freelander 2 TD4 GS Auto Rimini Red

You will still have to check the pressures every week regardless of the gas used to fill the tyres, as this is and always has been sound car maintainance.
Removing the valve cap to check pressures will get your fingers dirty, regardless of whether you then need to reinflate.
I check my pressures every week and on the FL2 do not need to top up more than 2 lbs/sq inch every 4 or 5 months.
Nitrogen from a cylinder is dry as compared to atmospheric air but then the outside of the tyres is constantly bathed in wet air, admittedly at a lower pressure than the inside of the tyre.
One pound a tyre is not exactly over the top, but since checking the pressures results in a small escape of gas you will over time still need to add gas and that would have to be done at a Nitrogen supplying outlet.