Home > Technical > Diesel leak
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
Chrism551

2012 Freelander 2 SD4 XS Auto Santorini Black
Diesel leak

Good afternoon
Newbie here so please be gentle. I have a bad diesel leak which appears to be dripping down the back of the engine near the turbo and near the gearbox. We have smelt fumes for a bit, and it seems the leak offs are the issue on two injectors. Due to non starting, I have just replaced the glow plugs, all four were dead, and fitted the later manifold ( no swirl flaps), just in time it seems as 3 flaps and a piece of rod fell out when I removed it, not sure where the last one ended up. Shocked All rebuilt and car starts on the button. Question I have is , the leak fills up round the injectors, can it then drip over the top of the cam cover and down the back or have a Censored something else up. Everything looks dry round the filter, the pump etc. I have ordered new spill pipes from advanced factors on here, do I need to order the o rings as well or do they come with the pipe kit? I also thought I would check the throttle body and found the gears had teeth missing, so new one ordered, plus egr blank as the,old one was full of oily crud. Hopefully will make it run a bit sweeter and improve the mpg. Any advice gratefully received. Thanks

Car is a 2007 poverty spec ‘s’ with 108k on the clock and lots of issues to deal with.

Post #403950 11th Feb 2021 2:42 pm
alex_pescaru

The o-rings are the ones that get old and need replacing.
You shouldn't have bought the whole spill off pipe set, just the o-rings.
Now, if I were you, I would buy some o-rings for peace of mind.

Post #403953 11th Feb 2021 3:58 pm
Chrism551

Thanks, I have ordered some anyway, but the locking clips on the spill pipes, a couple had lugs broken off. Hopefully that will sort it Big Cry

Post #403959 11th Feb 2021 4:42 pm
Chrism551