Forum-Gallery-Shop-Sponsors

« Advertise on Freel2.com

Home > Wheels & Tyres > No adjustment for this wear??
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
Deafender

United Kingdom 2009 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Auto Zermatt Silver
No adjustment for this wear??

Can I please enlist a bit of help with the bullshineometer as I am unsure on the story I have been given here... below are images of my two front tyres, both same make/style and fitted at the same time - and have done about 10,000 miles.

You can see that the offside one is badly worn on the inside edge, especially when compared to the nearside... and today I was told by a fitter that the tracking is spot-on, however my FL2 doesn’t have the adjustment necessary to prevent this wear, and it’s “probably something bent or worn like a spring or shock absorber... it’ll be cheaper changing the tyre than getting the issue fixed...”

Does that sound right? I am no expert here and not sure if that was just a bit of “closure time is 5 minutes from now so go away” type advice....

I took these photos on the phone twice, rotating 90 degrees for the second set and even then after applying the preview on the image rotating thingummy and being told the edit is saved and I can close the window, they still uploaded wrong, so I gave up trying... sorry if I have half the forum now nodding heads to one side reading this!!

Lexus RX450H - 500 mile a week commuter- I just couldn’t trust in a newer RRS or DS for that….
2009 Freelander 2 HSE... 155K miles, we’ve done 135k of those, has done brilliantly on the commute and staying firmly put as car two in the household
2002 Jaguar XK8 Coupe... fun, fast, ours for 12 years and owes us nothing - so staying with us too…

Post #392503 13th Jun 2020 8:15 pm
andyk159

United Kingdom 2010 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Auto Stornoway Grey

I think you need a full 4 wheel alignment check to see if there is a camber or castor issue with front suspension.