« Advertise on Freel2.com

Home > North America > Rear Differential - LR2 - Toronto Canada
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
to-LR2

Canada 2010 LR2 i6 HSE Auto Lago Grey
Rear Differential - LR2 - Toronto Canada

Hello, I am new to the Land Rover community and have found a lot of useful information on this site.

My recently bought 2010 LR2 had the classic rear diff issue that seems to be well known and I had to explore options for getting it fixed. I live in Toronto, Canada and the various postings didn't really have a simple (economical) way to get it fixed.

Based on my reading, a TSB I came across seemed to be the issue I was experiencing:
https://static.nhtsa.gov/odi/tsbs/2010/SB-10106024-9340.pdf
https://www.freel2.com/gallery/albums/userpics/11383/LTB00342.pdf

The quotes I was getting for the repairs were as follows: (CDN $)

Local Well Known Tranmission Shop (Chain) Quote: $1500 labour +685 parts + tax
Land Rover Dealership – approx. 4-5k +tax , new differential. They would not fix it and only provided this quote verbally. They wanted to 'diagnose' the problem and I wasn't willing to pay.
Local (Toronto) LR Independent- Quoted verbally after I described the issue -- around $2000+tax for rebuild.
Local Independent -- Art's Garage- 260 Midwest Road, Toronto -- see details below.

I went to my local repair shop where I've serviced my cars for many years and the owner suggested I get the parts in the TSB and then let him take a look. They took the rear diff apart and suggested replacement of a few of the other surrounding bearings (the TSB only had one in the list of parts). We were not able to get the other three bearings from JLR who said they only solution was to get a new diff. He sourced the other 3 bearings (TIMKIN) -- which is said makes good bearings -- and got everything fixed and running in one day.