Forum-Gallery-Shop-Sponsors

« Advertise on Freel2.com

Home > In Car Electronics > Microphone volume
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
Rebel1



Member Since: 24 May 2019
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 14

England 2008 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Auto Rimini Red
Microphone volume

When using the phone system I can hear callers perfectly - as if they were in the car with me, but apparently the reverse is not the case. The calls are clear and crackle-free but lacking in volume, reported by more than one caller. Is it possible to increase the sensitivity of the microphone? I believe that this is in the roof console.

Post #372587 25th May 2019 4:15 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Vanny



Member Since: 06 Dec 2015
Location: Cheshire West
Posts: 245

United Kingdom 2013 Freelander 2 SD4 XS Auto Santorini Black

What you describe suggests to me that your phone mic is being used and not the vehicle mic. Maybe unpair, delete pairing in phone and FL2, and repair.

Post #372589 25th May 2019 5:09 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Rebel1



Member Since: 24 May 2019
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 14

England 2008 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Auto Rimini Red
Microphone volume

Thanks, I'll give that a try. I should be able to tell if I put the phone outside the car once the call is initiated. It will be good if it's that easy.

Post #372593 25th May 2019 7:57 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Sidthecat



Member Since: 10 Sep 2017
Location: Sarf-East London-sur-Mer
Posts: 616

England 2013 Freelander 2 SD4 HSE Auto Orkney Grey

Vanny wrote:
What you describe suggests to me that your phone mic is being used and not the vehicle mic. Maybe unpair, delete pairing in phone and FL2, and repair.


Yep, that could be the case; believe that in the car phone settings there's an option to use car or phone mic

Post #372597 25th May 2019 9:27 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Rebel1



Member Since: 24 May 2019
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 14

England 2008 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Auto Rimini Red

I have tried putting the phone outside the car, that made no difference so the car mic is being used. There doesn't appear to be a setting on either the phone or car to select which mic to use so that isn't an option. I guess that I will just have to live with it unless someone knows different..........

Post #376799 15th Aug 2019 8:00 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
RogB



Member Since: 16 Dec 2014
Location: Mansfield
Posts: 3417

England 2012 Freelander 2 SD4 Sport Auto Barolo Black

is your phone giving you the option to choose hands free or phone ?

failing that could be that your microphone in the car has failed, ive no idea if you can get them separately or how easy they are to swap out.

i wouldnt worry anyway as the latest bright idea out of Westminster is to ban use of all hands free even if its built into the car Whistle 2012 '62' SD4 Auto Sport LE - Barolo black with black/ivory interior,

Post #376800 15th Aug 2019 8:09 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
snappa



Member Since: 16 Apr 2008
Location: Watching C-beams near the Tanhauser Gate
Posts: 1599

Scotland 2013 Freelander 2 TD4 GS Manual Buckingham Blue

I had this exact same issue on my Audi and I solved it by turning the bluetooth volume up on the phone when it was connected to the car. Can't for the life of me remember how I did it, I think when I was connected one the phone to someone I adjusted the volume on the phone but not 100% sure. Will have a look later.

Post #376803 15th Aug 2019 9:22 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
IanMetro



Member Since: 11 Sep 2017
Location: Somerset BS21
Posts: 1098

United Kingdom 2014 Freelander 2 SD4 Metropolis LE Auto Fuji White

I think there are some apps which allow you to adjust and remember different Bluetooth settings.
I did investigate these some time ago, for a different problem, but have never tried any.

Not sure how the FL2 system works but I think you need to adjust incoming Bluetooth media signal.

Perhaps worth a try?

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details...p;hl=en_US

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=android+...mp;bih=651 FL2 XS SD4 Auto 2010 2012-2017 (21k - 91k miles)
FL2 Metropolis SD4 Auto 2014 2017- (16k - 41k+ miles)

Post #376811 15th Aug 2019 10:39 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
IanMetro



Member Since: 11 Sep 2017
Location: Somerset BS21
Posts: 1098

United Kingdom 2014 Freelander 2 SD4 Metropolis LE Auto Fuji White

There are some codes, but as far as can see the microphone (near rear view mirror) is hard-wired into IAM Intregrated Audio Module. (with no separate control)


B1D78-13Auxiliary input Auxiliary input circuit - open circuit
Refer to electrical circuit diagrams and check auxiliary input circuit for open circuit

B1D79-11Microphone input
Microphone input circuit short to ground
Refer to electrical circuit diagrams and check microphone input circuit for short to ground

B1D79-12Microphone input
Microphone input circuit short to power
Refer to electrical circuit diagrams and check microphone input circuit for short to power

B1D7984Microphone input
Signal amplitude below minimumCarry out MOST system checks using manufacturer approved diagnostic system
 FL2 XS SD4 Auto 2010 2012-2017 (21k - 91k miles)
FL2 Metropolis SD4 Auto 2014 2017- (16k - 41k+ miles)

Post #376818 15th Aug 2019 11:15 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Stuartc



Member Since: 01 Dec 2014
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 2181

Australia 2015 Freelander 2 SD4 HSE Auto Aintree Green
Re: Microphone volume

Rebel1 wrote:
When using the phone system I can hear callers perfectly - as if they were in the car with me, but apparently the reverse is not the case. The calls are clear and crackle-free but lacking in volume, reported by more than one caller. Is it possible to increase the sensitivity of the microphone? I believe that this is in the roof console.


Connect your phone via Bluetooth or iPod/USB.

Once paired turn volume up on the phone.

When docked or paired the phone will remember selected settings. MY15
Tyre Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS)
Surround Camera System (WIP)
InControl Apps
Meridian Premium Surround Sound
Digital Audio Broadcast
Timed Climate
Cruise ECO Data
Follow Me Home Reverse
Extra Features Menu
Picture In Motion
4x4i screen (WIP)
Digital Broadcast TV
Meridian Rear Media with WIFI
Factory Powered Tailgate
Blind Spot Monitoring (WIP)

Post #376825 15th Aug 2019 11:54 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Rebel1



Member Since: 24 May 2019
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 14

England 2008 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Auto Rimini Red

I am now blaming the mic. A replacement is available on the bay for less than £20, used but with short warranty, so am going to try that. Not sure how to remove the overhead console in order to fit it, but it probably just clips into the headlining. Hope that's all it is anyway. Thanks for all advice offered.

Post #376827 15th Aug 2019 12:44 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
ad210358



Member Since: 12 Oct 2008
Location: Here and There
Posts: 7462

England 

If you hit the search button, there is an old thread on here regarding the issue. Try increasing the volume of the handset, odd I know but the volume setting on your handset seems to determine the output volume of the hands free. p****d off with a Digital Keyboard Warrior

Post #377030 18th Aug 2019 10:13 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Rebel1



Member Since: 24 May 2019
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 14

England 2008 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Auto Rimini Red

Getting the console out was more of a hassle than the pictures would suggest, but managed it in the end, Putting it back was actually worse. Worse still is that the problem is ongoing, but the phone is now unpaired and I will use my TomTom for the purpose - I prefer it to the onboard gps anyway.

Post #377104 20th Aug 2019 10:36 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Rebel1



Member Since: 24 May 2019
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 14

England 2008 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Auto Rimini Red

Unbelievable! It was the phone at fault, not the car at all! Frustration resolved.

Post #377436 27th Aug 2019 9:14 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Post Reply
Post Reply  Back to top
Page 1 of 1
All times are GMT + 1 Hour

Jump to  
Previous Topic | Next Topic >
Posting Rules
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Site Copyright © 2006-2019 Futuranet Ltd & Martin Lewis


Switch to Mobile site