Home > Maintenance & Modifications > Window Tinting
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
Mad-Dog

United Kingdom 2008 Freelander 2 TD4 GS Manual Santorini Black
Window Tinting

Hi Guys

Just thought i would offer some advice about window tints, as a serving Traffic Officer i keep getting asked about window tints and the law, it can be confusing so i will set it out here as simple as i can

The Law

Section 32 of the Road Vehicles (Construction and Use) Regulations deals with the law on tints, in 2003 a very nasty accident occoured in Greater Manchester between a car and a motorbike, on investigation the cause of the accident was directly atributed to the tints on the car, as a result in late 2003 an amendment to the as was current law was introduced this change came into effect on the 1st January 2004. It states that as of this date "Window Tint Films" where such materials attached to the glass are capable of reducing the Visible Light Transmission of forward windows to below prescribed levels (70% VLT for windows forward of the 'B' pillar)

In laymans terms this means that all glass forward of the b piller, (the rear edge of the drivers door) must let 70% of the natural light through.

What we have already

I have contacted Landrover and they have sent me an e-mail stating amoung other things that we currently have the following tints currently on the windows

Windscreen - 78% of light will pass through
Drivers door - 71%
Passenger door - 71%
Rear passenger doors - 71%
Rear Window - 71%

What we can do

With this information it is clear that the Front windows and the windscreen are already at the legal maximum, given the 1% leyway, as far as the rears and the back screen you can leagally tint these as dark as you like, remember though if you do get it done that the windows already have a 71% tint already so take this into account when ordering

Getting stopped