« Advertise on Freel2.com

Home > Technical > Engine motor mount replacement with heavy pics
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
Tubolove

United States 2008 LR2 i6 SE Auto Nazca Sand
Engine motor mount replacement with heavy pics

Hello! My wife's LR2 had the motor mounts go bad and the LR Stealership wanted $1400.00 to replace them. There are 3 and are all very easy to replace with a small amount of mechanical ability and some basic tools. Total cost for all genuine LR parts was $285 from Amazon/eBay. The mounts began grumbling * rattling * vibrating when turning right and accelerating. It was the big, hidden, oil filled one holding up the front engine that was making all the racket but you could not see it as it resides underneath a plate that bolts to the top side of the engine. The others were worn but not noisy and all should probably be replaced simultaneously as they seem to wear at approximately the same rate.

Caveat emptor: I am a pharmacist by trade and NOT a professional mechanic. This post merely documents the way I chose to repair my own personal truck. Use this post at your own risk and liability.

These are the parts to be replaced.

I started by disconnecting the negative battery terminal and set the parking brake.

I removed this cover by pulling up firmly. It simply clips on.

Then I used a 13mm socket to remove the six skid plate bolts and the skid plate. If you've ever changed the oil then this is not foreign to you!

Then I used a block of wood to jack up on the oil pan just enough to barely begin to raise the engine so it wouldn't drop when I removed the plate holding the engine on top of the mount.

I used a 10mm socket to remove the screw retaining the coolant overflow tank and simply left it connected but mobile so I could move it as needed to access all the mount bolts without removing the tank.