« Advertise on Freel2.com

Home > Wheels & Tyres > Advice for changing wheels / jacking
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
Yanwoo

2011 Freelander 2 SD4 XS Auto Galway Green
Advice for changing wheels / jacking

I’ve got myself a trolley jack (from SGS, after recommendations on here…thanks!) so am now ready to change my wheels.As this is my first time...have some questions (apologies for their basic nature...I’m a complete newbie to stuff like this)

1) For changing wheels, do I need to get axel stands as well as the jack? I understand they make sense if you’re working under the car or for an extended period, but is it overkill for a quick wheel change?

2) Is it better to jack up next to the wheel and do that four times, or jack up from a central point to do two wheels at a time? I was planning to do the former as it *seems* simpler and safer and I’m not worried about speed.

3) Does it matter which of the two listed side jack points I use (on the LR document showing jacking points)? I think I can see the points on the sill (thinnish metal strips denoted by an arrow on the plastic?), so was planning to use those.

4) If I jack up next to the wheels, do I need to use a block on the opposite wheel? I’m jacking on a level surface that’s concrete etc. Apart from blocks made for this purpose (which I don’t have), is there any common item I might have that I could use instead?

5) any other tips / precautions I should take?!

Thanks! FL2 2011 SD4 XS in Galway Green

Post #265548 2nd Jun 2015 12:30 pm
Landiroamer

United Kingdom 2015 Freelander 2 TD4_e SE Manual Orkney Grey

I use a 2 ton trolley jack with a 500mm lift and jack the car up at the cars jacking point on the sill next to the wheel being removed and use a rubber pad on the jack saddle so it doesnt damage the the paint.
Chock the wheel both sides diagonally opposite the other side of the car.