« Advertise on Freel2.com

Home > Maintenance & Modifications > Rear Light Guards Help
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
quickmotor

Ireland 2007 Freelander 2 TD4 S Manual Stornoway Grey
Rear Light Guards Help

Just wondering if anybody has fitted the rear light guards to their freelander yet? I have bought a pair but cannot follow the instructions Mad . It says that you have to use a rivet gun Shocked . As I have never used one of these before I would love to hear from someone that has fitted these to their car.

Any help much appreciated.

Post #5335 9th Aug 2007 10:31 am
Dave

Scotland 2012 Freelander 2 SD4 HSE Auto Indus Silver

Having not fitted them before so can't really offer any help although the instructions look clear to me.

The rivet isn't actually a "Pot Rivet", it what we used to call "Hank Nuts", but fitted in a similar way. The guns are similar but with a hank nut you screw it onto the end of the gun, poke it through the hole and squeeze the handle.

Only thing that would bother me is that one side of the guard looks like it is attached to the light cluster by drilling through the side of it. In my opinion and hard enough "knock" on the guard would crack the light cluster at the point where it is mounted. The other side looks ok as it is mounted on some sort of bracket.

Sorry that I can't be of any help but I wish you luck. ______________________
2011 Full Fat RR 4.4 TDV8
2012 FL2 SD4 Auto HSE
2013 Kawasaki Versys 650

Post #5340 9th Aug 2007 12:27 pm
quickmotor

Ireland 2007 Freelander 2 TD4 S Manual Stornoway Grey

UKdave104 wrote:
Having not fitted them before so can't really offer any help although the instructions look clear to me.

The rivet isn't actually a "Pot Rivet", it what we used to call "Hank Nuts", but fitted in a similar way. The guns are similar but with a hank nut you screw it onto the end of the gun, poke it through the hole and squeeze the handle.