« Advertise on Freel2.com

Home > General > TD4 Gears
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
NightFox

United Kingdom 2007 Freelander 2 TD4 SE Manual Tambora Flame
TD4 Gears

The one thing that it's taking time for me to get comfortable with with my TD4 is the gears. I've been driving for a little over 20 years and owned 8 different cars, including a TD5 Disco II and a TDV6 Disco 3, which have had anywhere between 4 and 6 gears. The one consistent thing I've found is that just cruising around at 30mph, they've all been pretty comfortable in 4th (with a little oomph still in hand), and normally are happy to sit in 5th at 40mph. So I'm kind of conditioned to be using these gears at these speeds (unless accelerating of course).

But with my FL2, these gears/speeds just seem to labour the engine. I'm finding that I need to be in 3rd at 30mph, and 4th only really becomes an option closer to 40mph. At the top of the scale, 6th only feel right at 70mph+, but I guess it's meant to be a cruising gear anyway. With 6 gears, I'm surprised the "spread" isn't lower down the scale, especially for a vehicle which is likely to spend more time under load at lower speeds than high-speed cruising.

I think I'm mentally conditioned to think "higher gear = better fuel economy", even though I really know that this isn't necessarily the case. In the early days of the Disco3 forums, I seem to remember somebody making a good post about fuel economy relating to optimum engine speed, rather than lower engine speed, anyone remember seeing that?

Anyone else got any views on this?

Post #3552 4th Jun 2007 10:55 am
avtur

United Kingdom 2007 Freelander 2 TD4 GS Manual Stornoway Grey

Night fox,

How many miles has your car done? My car is fine at 30mph in 4th and will pull from that as well, but at nearly 12k miles it's well run in. I would also say that I'm frequently using 6th at way below 70mph (which is spot on 2000 rpm).