Home > Technical > Gear selector.
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
Mel

United Kingdom 2011 Freelander 2 SD4 HSE Auto Zermatt Silver
Gear selector.

Hi,
I am new to the FL2 and especially auto boxes, so I have to ask is, does the selector lock on the gear stick lock in all positions or in just some particular positions.

thanks

Post #439854 5th Mar 2024 7:19 pm
I Like Chips

United Kingdom 2011 Freelander 2 SD4 HSE Auto Indus Silver

It's in the handbook

Post #439861 5th Mar 2024 11:15 pm
axle

England 2007 Freelander 2 i6 HSE Auto Santorini Black

Maybe he didn't get a handbook with the car. Common sense isn't very common.

Post #439862 6th Mar 2024 1:36 am
moontan

India 2013 Freelander 2 SD4 HSE Auto Fuji White
Re: Gear selector.

Mel wrote:
Hi,
I am new to the FL2 and especially auto boxes, so I have to ask is, does the selector lock on the gear stick lock in all positions or in just some particular positions.

thanks

It locks in all positions except when shifting from N to D and vice versa.

Post #439863 6th Mar 2024 6:40 am
I Like Chips

axle wrote:
Maybe he didn't get a handbook with the car.

True and I did't post a link

https://www.freel2.com/forum/topic10621.html

Post #439864 6th Mar 2024 8:02 am
Mel

Gear selector.

Thanks you for all the input, the handbook doesn’t give any answer to the question that I can see.
Moontan says it locks in all positions except D to N and vice versa which mine doesn’t. I will go through the selector movements and give some detail as to what it does and does not and some can say whether it is correct or not.

thank you all for your advice, links and patience afterall I am a newbie and old what could be worse ha ha.

Post #439866 6th Mar 2024 10:53 am
Lightwater

Ukraine 2013 Freelander 2 2.0T SE Auto Fuji White