Forum-Gallery-Shop-Sponsors

« Advertise on Freel2.com

Home > Technical > Dipping revs between 1500 - 2000rpm, now blown off top hose.
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
Tominator

United Kingdom 2013 Freelander 2 SD4 HSE Lux Auto Orkney Grey
Dipping revs between 1500 - 2000rpm, now blown off top hose.

Hi all,

I'll preface this with the fact I'm not technical but I try to do a few basic bits here and there... so please forgive my lack of knowledge but any advice would be much appreciated.

Over the last few days I have begun to experience a drop off and then pick up in revs (like I'm tapping my foot on and off the accelerator) between 1500 and 2000rpm, normally when I'm only just touching the throttle. This can be going as slow as 30mph, or at 70mph. It only occurs when the engine is hot after a good 45mns driving. No codes are logged (I have a basic code reader).

Some Googling suggested either the Crank Position Sensor or a split intercooler hose.

I replaced the hoses 6 months ago after a split, so looked to the CPS. I replaced that yesterday, but experienced exactly the same issue on a long drive today. However, shortly after the issue started today I had to accelerate hard as I was on an incline. There was a loud bang and immediately it went into reduced performance mode.

Got home and looked under the bonnet and the top intercooler hose had blown off. The RAC attended and refitted it but it blew off again when accelerating hard on a quick test drive. Logged P006A.

RAC guy says that it could just be that the inside of the pipe is now slick with oil residue and that basically it will just keep popping off no matter how hard he clamps it down and needs replacing, ideally with silicone. He also mentioned the possibility of a blocked intercooler or overboost.