Forum-Gallery-Shop-Sponsors

« Advertise on Freel2.com

Home > Maintenance & Modifications > Had a Freelander for 72 hours and I'm already under the car
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
Rat_penat

United Kingdom 2011 Freelander 2 SD4 Sport Auto Barolo Black
Had a Freelander for 72 hours and I'm already under the car

Hello!

First time poster. I have no real mechanical background so feel free to talk to me like I'm a stupid child.

FL2 SD4 auto with 150k on it. Test drive fine and seemed OK in the pouring rain. Bought it, got it home, realised the next day it was lubricating my driveway.

Armed with nothing but a Haynes manual and a fear of garage invoices I got the undertray off and found a leak coming from the front of the sump. Filter base seems clean so I don't think it's that but it's hard to say - not much space in the front. The hose that runs over the top of the engine seems clean(ish) too, so that's out. Could be front crank seal (I really hope not). Engine oil level seems fine (maybe even a bit over), so maybe previous owner banged a load of oil into it to cover it up when I dipped it. Aside from getting the rad off to really look at it I'm out of ideas.

Doesn't throw any codes on the reader either. And if anyone knows that this bolt I found rolling around the tray is from I would be very interested to know.

Post #434160 19th Jul 2023 10:22 pm
NoDo$h

England 2010 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Auto Santorini Black

Is that an M6 / 10mm nut? If so, check if the headlights have two bolts holding them i placen, and along the top of the grille/slam panel. Current driveway contents:
2021 V60 Cross Country B5
2009 FL2 dog bus and shooting wagon

On Order: 2023 Fisker Ocean Ultra - deposit paid.

Post #434162 19th Jul 2023 11:33 pm
Rommel

England 2013 Freelander 2 TD4 XS Manual Fuji White
Re: Had a Freelander for 72 hours and I'm already under the

Rat_penat wrote:
Hello!