« Advertise on Freel2.com

Home > General > Turbo Clean
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
Labradorslave

United Kingdom 2007 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Manual Stornoway Grey
Turbo Clean

If like me you have spent the winter doing mainly short journey’s, you may have started to notice an effect on engine performance. I started to get a little overboost at low speeds so decided to look at all the options. The guaranteed solution was remove the turbo, strip and clean. If you don’t do it yourself, you are looking at £800-900 pounds. The alternative is chemical treatment with the turbo in-situ. Fortunately someone else had reviewed fuel additives and posted their experiences and conclusions. HHO cleaning is a nonsense in my opinion (I have a PhD in Chemistry) so I took an educated punt at the Forte system. The garage checked the engine over and removed and checked all the turbo hoses before proceeding. Post cleaning what a difference-it is like driving a different car. Turbo pickup is instant and it accelerates smoothly through the rev range. The engine is quieter and much more refined. Although expensive at £180, in my experience well worth the money. Although I wasn’t getting any fault codes, the turbo and engine were clearly not working as they should.

Post #404113 15th Feb 2021 6:01 pm
gasman

United Kingdom 2009 Freelander 2 TD4_e GS Manual Zermatt Silver

That's a fair comment but your turbo must not have been that bad.