Home > General > buying advice
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
Schmitt

United Kingdom 
buying advice

First post here so be gentle...

I'm completely new to the world of the Freelander 2 and am looking to buy an MY2014 SD4 XS.

Apart from service history, is there anything Freelander 2 specific that I should look out for when viewing a potential purchase?

Am I correct in thinking that the 2014 SD4 has a timing chain and ancillary belt as opposed to timing belt and ancillary belt?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Post #403374 29th Jan 2021 11:38 am
Grimdog

United Kingdom 2010 Freelander 2 TD4_e HSE Manual Barolo Black

As far as I known all the TD4 / SD4 variants have all three. Timing chain, timing belt and aux belt. Should be changed at 7 years, so if looking at a 14 plate, budget for that doing if not already done. Loads of info on this site, spend a lot of time researching before you purchase. Our freelanders seem to have their fair share of drivetrain issues, as well as other widely known common faults. Later models have had some revisions such as a bigger pinion bearing in the rear diff. I spent literally days researching before committing to purchase. I do all my own mechanical work, so wanted to know what possible problems and associated
costs I may be letting myself in for. Luckily for me, the 150k, 2010 plate TD4 I bought has given me few problems up to press. I did the cambelt and water pump, aux belt, all fluids and serviced the haldex immediately after purchase, as there was no record of this being done in the SH. Still have the glow plugs to replace as cold starting is poor. Other than that, happy days and I am enjoying the car. Good luck in finding the right car for you.

Post #403375 29th Jan 2021 12:18 pm
Nodge68

United Kingdom 2009 Freelander 2 TD4 SE Manual Rimini Red
Re: buying advice

Schmitt wrote:
First post here so be gentle...