« Advertise on Freel2.com

Home > Off Topic > Alternatives to BT
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
dorsetfreelander

United Kingdom 2014 Freelander 2 SD4 XS Auto Loire Blue
Alternatives to BT

I was talking to a guy who gave up on getting a decent broadband speed in his house and just bought a cheap mobile phone and uses it as a hot spot. So yesterday I started playing around with concept as I am paying lots of ££s to BT for line rental and broadband which delivers 15Mb/s. I bought a sim card chosen from one of the price comparison sites which uses the 4G vodafone network on a 30 day contract and set it up as a hotspot using a spare phone and found that I was getting download speed of over 50mb/s plus unlimited phone calls. For about £15/month there are some really good data deals available. I was just wondering if anyone else has been looking at this option?

PS I will start researching to see if I can get the phone to drive my BT router 3 x FL1 2 manual + 1 auto
5 x FL2 4 manual + 1 auto
Now Discovery Sport P250 MHEV SE

Post #387344 1st Mar 2020 10:53 am
Lightwater

Ukraine 2013 Freelander 2 2.0T SE Auto Fuji White

Down under broadband is a complete debacle. Now we are on mobiles only & use hotspot like many others. If you are not steaming then mobile is the way to go. My current pre pay is $100, 60GB data, free local calls & sms, free international calls & sms to the countries which we need, 6 months. & it's a lot quicker. Procrastination, mankind's greatest labour saving device!

Acoustic insulation ARB TPMS 3xARB air compressors After cooler Air tank On-board OCD pressure air/water cleaning Additional 50L fuel Carpet in doors ABE 2x1kg Waeco 28L modified fridge Battery 4x26ah Solar 120w Victron MPPT 100/20 DC-DC 18amps 175amp jumper plug Awning 6x255/60R18

Post #387348 1st Mar 2020 12:29 pm
pab

United Kingdom 2009 Freelander 2 TD4 XS Manual Lago Grey