Forum-Gallery-Shop-Sponsors

« Advertise on Freel2.com

Home > Tips & Tricks > Instrument cluster software upgrade TIME, INST FUEL
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 4 1234>
Print this entire topic · 
gruodiz



Member Since: 04 Dec 2011
Location: Klaipeda
Posts: 104

Lithuania 2007 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Lux Auto Stornoway Grey
Instrument cluster software upgrade TIME, INST FUEL

I just got my 2007 HSE instrument cluster software upgrade, the thing I was thinking to do earlier before. Actually I tried couple of times with no success but today is the day I did it right and installed correct software parts.

I did some kind of research in www.mobile.de looking for right year Freelander 2 with pictures of instrument cluster showing TIME in there so it was late 2009 and 2010 year vehicles.

I tried to copy and replace files and have them downloaded by SDD EXTRA recommendations in Diagnosis mode. Software files were downloaded but with no success for time and even worse I lost average consumption function, just 0.0L/100Km all the time.

My thoughts to make the result helped known forum member Alex alex_pescaru with his topic of How To Edit CCF in other way... so I did this software upgrade and download by SDD engineer mode.

Now I have the option to see these parts in instrument cluster

TIME (new)
EXT TEMPERATURE
TRIP
RANGE
AVERAGE FUEL CONSUMPTION
INSTANT FUEL CONSUMPTION (new)
AVERAGE SPEED









Instant fuel consumption when engine running in D but stopped and not moving



Just after start and it drops in seconds









Here are the files that were downloaded to my 2007 TD4 auto box, KMH instrument cluster



Thumbs Up Thumbs Up Thumbs Up

Post #206659 10th Nov 2013 10:41 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
alex_pescaru



Member Since: 12 Mar 2009
Location: Constanta
Posts: 4242

Well done !!! Thumbs Up

But I am curious and I have some questions, if I may....

Quote:
How To Edit CCF in other way... so I did this software upgrade and download by SDD engineer mode.

What CCF edit has to do with firmware downloads?
You don't need that "full CCF edit" modification in order to download files into Instruments....

What do you mean by "SDD engineer mode" ?
Did you used the below SDD's section for programming the Instruments?



Quote:
I tried to copy and replace files and have them downloaded by SDD EXTRA recommendations in Diagnosis mode.

What do you mean by that? You've saw which files were normally programmed for your instrument cluster and you replaced those files with different others? And then you used the normal way of "Configuring existing module - Instrument Cluster"?

I am asking you because for long time I wanted to try this modification too but I didn't collect until now enough information about which file(s) are working... And my IC is MY2009, not MY2007.

Thank you!

 

Post #206676 11th Nov 2013 12:02 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
gruodiz



Member Since: 04 Dec 2011
Location: Klaipeda
Posts: 104

Lithuania 2007 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Lux Auto Stornoway Grey

Alex, your topic about CCF editing gave me idea how to do it. I found an option to choose what ever software you want to download.

Yes, previously I tried to download/ upgrade my instrument cluster couple times in SDD diagnosis-> recommendation menu, I noticed the software file names during download then replaced them with the ones I wanted to have downloaded to IPC in program files -> JLR folder.

I think no matter what year your IPC is that software should work.

Actually I tried to do the downgrade in case of mistake or badly chosen files etc. I have noticed my first files and wanted to have them downloaded to IPC just to see if program lets to do that but I got some kind of error and ran out of time so this is the one I want to try first now.

If program lets download newer versions to other modules and have them restored to first stage in mistake that would be another great option Thumbs Up

Hope you understood me Smile

Post #207218 14th Nov 2013 10:27 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Steve D



Member Since: 19 Jan 2013
Location: Essexshire
Posts: 3753

United Kingdom 

&sns=em Past: FL2 TD4 HSE Auto
Present: Evoque SD4 Dynamic Lux Auto

Post #207221 14th Nov 2013 11:00 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
ccsnet



Member Since: 05 Jan 2013
Location: Lancs
Posts: 881

United Kingdom 2007 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Manual Tambora Flame

@Steve Thumbs Up

( and I'm a geek ...)

T Terran



'The' Car For The Modern Day UK Roads ( ie all the pot holes )

'A Freelander that leaks oil is just marking its territory' - Wise words

Now a member of the FL2 'Silly Bill' Club

Post #207226 14th Nov 2013 11:39 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
alex_pescaru



Member Since: 12 Mar 2009
Location: Constanta
Posts: 4242

gruodiz wrote:
Hope you understood me Smile

Yes, I do.
You've directly launched softwaredownload.htm or did you accessed that SDD's section by other means?
I am asking because if you directly launch softwaredownload.htm, there are some functions that still need the information from the CCF and therefore the CCF to be read from the car.
Some problems/errors could appear if the CCF isn't already uploaded from the car.

Post #207237 15th Nov 2013 8:05 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
gruodiz



Member Since: 04 Dec 2011
Location: Klaipeda
Posts: 104

Lithuania 2007 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Lux Auto Stornoway Grey

I didn't know about softwaredownload.html until I saw your topic and tried to walk around by replacing files and using SDD program options but only succeed by downloading through softwaredownload.html

Actually I got PC error not related to SDD so don't know about CCF and didn't do any changes in CCF.

My vehicle has now stored DTC something like incorrect CCF or files in IPC (instrument cluster) but everything works perfect and I don't care about that DTC

Post #207249 15th Nov 2013 9:56 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
alex_pescaru



Member Since: 12 Mar 2009
Location: Constanta
Posts: 4242

Indeed, I've also flashed a MY2007 instrument cluster and the same error:
U0300 Internal control module software incompatibility...
But also seemed to work OK.

Post #207251 15th Nov 2013 10:06 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
gruodiz



Member Since: 04 Dec 2011
Location: Klaipeda
Posts: 104

Lithuania 2007 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Lux Auto Stornoway Grey

Do all functions work despite that, time, inst fuel and others?

Post #207253 15th Nov 2013 10:21 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
alex_pescaru



Member Since: 12 Mar 2009
Location: Constanta
Posts: 4242

Yes, they work.

Post #207256 15th Nov 2013 10:24 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
FL2Printzern



Member Since: 21 Sep 2011
Location: Honefoss
Posts: 90

Norway 2007 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Manual Stornoway Grey

I can confirm this is working. alex_pescaru downloaded the files to my IC and after a DTC clear all have been fine. Yesterday I drove about 120Km with no problem and the readings seems to be as accurate as you can hope for.
When I checked the fuel consumtion it was 0.68L/10Km, (Manually control measure L/Distance) or 6.8L/100Km as the message display indicate - equal to 42 Miles/Gallon (Any better? Smile ) This was normal careful driving, but with a lot of rush hour traffic in the city. Thanks Alexandru, you are my number one stunt programmer! Smile

Post #207257 15th Nov 2013 10:25 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
alex_pescaru



Member Since: 12 Mar 2009
Location: Constanta
Posts: 4242

Thank you very much again! Thumbs Up

Post #207258 15th Nov 2013 10:27 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
gruodiz



Member Since: 04 Dec 2011
Location: Klaipeda
Posts: 104

Lithuania 2007 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Lux Auto Stornoway Grey

BTW this software "opened" the function to install Russian language. I have couple clients who better understand Russian than English. Standard 2007 vehicle software had and option to choose Russian language in SDD service menu but after download it finished in English.

Post #207259 15th Nov 2013 10:33 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
alex_pescaru



Member Since: 12 Mar 2009
Location: Constanta
Posts: 4242

On the same note....
In the CCF there is an option for enabling/disabling speed warnings... Also about speed limiters.
Parameter 44 and 45 from second block.
Did you tried to enable this option for enable/disable speed warnings? And see if it work on the cluster?

Post #207260 15th Nov 2013 10:40 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
FL2Printzern



Member Since: 21 Sep 2011
Location: Honefoss
Posts: 90

Norway 2007 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Manual Stornoway Grey

My car had french language in the nessage center - and that is greek to me! I wanted to change to Norwegian, but ended up with english

Post #207261 15th Nov 2013 10:41 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Post Reply  Back to top
Page 1 of 4 1234>
All times are GMT + 1 Hour

Jump to  
Previous Topic | Next Topic >
Posting Rules
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Site Copyright © 2006-2020 Futuranet Ltd & Martin Lewis


Switch to Mobile site