« Advertise on Freel2.com

Home > Maintenance & Modifications > Fitted an Oil Seperator \ Catch Can
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 5 12345>
Print this entire topic · 
shiggsy

United Kingdom 2007 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Auto Baltic Blue
Fitted an Oil Seperator \ Catch Can

I had a starting problem (which eventually got fixed with a software update), in the course of investigating this I bought an IID tool, which recently flagged up a failed Glow Plug. Researching what was involved in a glow plug change led me to the intake manifold, which led me into swirl flap problems, which led me into gunking up issue which led me into EGR problems which led me to the PCV which led me up to the rather infamous oil drip from the air intake pipe joint.

Let me just state I am no mechanic, I can follow instructions and do my own maintainence to a certain extent, but I may well have got some of the following wrong.

So, the gunky EGR and swirl flaps can be helped by simply fitting an EGR blanking plate, so I ordered one of those and fitted it. As can be seen for the pic below the pipe was beginning to gunk up, it really was a thick oily sludge. I'll address the swirl flaps, maybe removing them, when I get around to doing the glow plugs later in the year when its warmed up a bit.