Forum-Gallery-Shop-Sponsors

« Advertise on Freel2.com

Home > North America > Another Canadian...
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
nza

Canada 2008 LR2 i6 SE Auto Baltic Blue
Another Canadian...

Hey peoples. Another canucker. I'm currently on the wet coast, Vancouver Island. Picked up our LR2 last August on a trade-in of our 04 Freelander. I haven't been able to drive it much, as the wife uses it for work into the rural areas. But we have taken it all up and down Vancouver Island, into the sticks...and more than impressed over the Freelander. Here's my 6 month review I posted on muddyoval back in January:

Quote:
OK, 6 month review. As you will be able to tell, I am no professional reviewer, these are just the opinons of me own, and thoughts have no order.

First of all, I do notice there is a difference when fueling up between regular and supreme. pick up is better, and there is no sluggishness. lr2 generally gets happier with supreme.

Ride, very comfortable, we feel it is light years beyond the FL. The leather seats are firm and yet cushy, with good lumbar. Not sure how it would feel for 'bigger' butts. What else about the ride, potholes, what potholes?

Driveability. I think it has enough masculinity in its drivetrain for a guy to beat the bush, and enough soccer mominess to satisfy. In the past 6 months, the vehicle has tackled mountainous logging roads of vancouver island, a foot of snow with perma ice, rain sleet, slush, MUD ruts... (all more so than the average soccer mom/dad)
with a 'little' technical know-how, we were able to traverse with no problems. I like the set-it-and-forget-it driving conditions knobby. Currently we have it on snow. Coupled with the Toyo Open Country G02+ tires, the lr2 slices through the snow and flooded roads like nobodies business. I have to give the tires alot of credit for the winter driveability though, it maintains traction even at a high rev starting line.