Forum-Gallery-Shop-Sponsors

« Advertise on Freel2.com

Home > Technical > Haldex to be replaced, but is it safe until then?
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
Wintermute

Turkey 2011 Freelander 2 TD4 XS Auto Stornoway Grey
Haldex to be replaced, but is it safe until then?

I have the 2010MY FL' since january, and after tons of complaints and getting my lawyer involved, I got the dealer look in to it.

They had my car for a week now, and they say that after testing etc. they identified Haldex needs to be replaced. They say it's safe to drive so I can get my car back, and they will have the parts in two weeks and they will call for replacement, adding it is safe to drive the car.

I have been driving it with the vibration since 6 months (20.000 km) but is it really safe to drive the car with a faulty (vibration causing) haldex? Anyone had a similar problem with it before? 2010 Freelander 2 Select TD4 auto....gone
2011 Freelander 2 TD4 auto ...current

Post #74198 18th Aug 2010 8:38 am
druand

Scotland 2013 Freelander 2 SD4 GS Auto Fuji White

What were vibration symptoms? My 2010my GS Auto has had problems. All FL2's (3) Gone
2011 Mercedes C180 CGI Gone
FL2 GS Auto SD with heated leather, factory tints, alloy spare and a few other bits.

Post #74251 18th Aug 2010 8:48 pm
Wintermute

It feels kinda wobbly, and around 130 km/h and up has vibrations as if tyres out of balance. When driving alone I can see the front passenger seat vibrate.

Dealership tried balancing the wheels, no luck, then fitted a complete set of wheels from another car, no luck.

They were thinkin it were one of the axles being bent, so tried one by one each axle and shaft, no luck. They fitted a haldex from another car, bingo. They say at least. Now I am waiting for the nex haldex to try it out myself. 2010 Freelander 2 Select TD4 auto....gone

Post #74381 20th Aug 2010 5:05 pm
alex_pescaru