« Advertise on Freel2.com

Home > My Freelander 2 > 2nd day with Freelander 2 in Iceland -- a few pics
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
Stuartr

Iceland 
2nd day with Freelander 2 in Iceland -- a few pics

So it was my first full day with the Freelander today, and it turned out to be a very nice day. I bought this FL2 yesterday with 8000km on it, first registered in 1/08. It looks almost new inside and out. I got a great deal, and I am extraordinarily happy. When I first moved to Iceland I was not able to afford a good 4x4, so I just brought my old road car with me from the US. But with the state of the Icelandic currency, I was able to afford a nice used FL2.

So anyway, today was my first venture out. I must say that I really love the car -- it is so comfortable, pleasant to drive, and well thought out. But as soon as I got off the tarmac I realized just how much better this car was going to be for me. I am a photographer, and in the past I have been constrained by the fact that my car could not really go much further than gravel roads (and it did not even really like them very much...). So many of the interesting places here are unaccessible but for rough dirt roads or trails, and having something that can tackle them confidently is a great benefit. The car just glides over the gravel roads and potholes -- they were not an effort at all, which also means that they are not an effort for the driver. You could be on these roads for hours (and they do last that long in places), and in the FL2 they are going to be much less fatiguing.