Forum-Gallery-Shop-Sponsors

« Advertise on Freel2.com

Home > General > Newbie looking for some buying advice!
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
DanielB89

United Kingdom 
Newbie looking for some buying advice!

Evening all,

I hope your all well?

I'm came across the forum while googling for help with buying a freelander 2, just want to say this looks like a great forum, full of great advice and some knowledgeable people.

Anyway, I'm currently on the hunt for a freelander, I've always been heavily into VAG's but have grown tired of their high price tags and frankly crap build quality.
We currently have a Audi A4 2005 and a seat Leon 2007, the a4 is the main family car we use for holidays but it just isn't big enough and we are looking at having our second child so want something bigger, hence the change.

So my budget is a maximum of £8000 and im thinking that the HSE is the one I want to go for but I'm totally new to land rovers so not got a clue what to look for, what spec to look for, common faults etc.

Within my budget I see there's 2 engine options, the 147 or 157bhp! What's the difference between these? Simple software change on LR's part or more involved like larger turbo, injectors etc? Looking at tuning figures it seems the 147 can be remapped to a higher figure than the 157? I know there's the SD4 engine which I'd love to go for but it just isn't within my budget unfortunately.

Does the HSE come with rain sensitive auto wipers and power fold mirrors?

I see you can get xenon headlights, do these come with a auto function? Do they have DRL lights fitted to them? Are they bi-xenon or are they xenon for the low beam and halogen for the Main beam? I see that if you have the xenons as an option they
Seem to come with drivers memory seat function! This correct?

Are the parking sensors audio or visual display based?

Any common faults or recalls to look out for?