« Advertise on Freel2.com

Home > Finance & Insurance > Insurance and winter 4x4 and SORN
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
Chuckalicious

United Kingdom 2014 Freelander 2 SD4 SE Auto Santorini Black
Insurance and winter 4x4 and SORN

Right, wondered if anyone knows the answer to this.

Currently my family has an FL2 and an Audi A4. We have just moved to an area which becomes problematic if there is any sort of bad winter.

I have considered buying a cheap 4x4, ie FL1, Jimmy, X-Trail or something which would be SORN'd until needed. I known it doesn't need to be insured when off the road but when it came to being on the road, would I need a separate policy or do most normal policies cover this sort of thing? I'm a named driver on my wife's insurance and vice versa but don't know how changing cars for say 3 months of the year would work.

Cheers. Learned to drive in 2011.
Bought a Micra - great little car
"Upgraded" to Kia Sportage - hated it
Proper upgrade to FL2 TD4 GS 60 reg Facelift - tailgate paint issues, fuel gauge rewire, transfer box failure at 36k miles, clutch at 60k
Reconditioned diff at 70k ish
Sold at 84k and now on a DS. Terribly unreliable.
Sold DS for a 2021 Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV. Fingers crossed....
Sold Outlander for a 2014 SD4 SE Tech because I’m mental

Post #273801 26th Aug 2015 5:55 pm
DAC364

United Kingdom 2014 Freelander 2 TD4 XS Manual Orkney Grey

The car will need insurance in its own right. You might get a discount on a limited mileage policy. If you're thinking you can get away with 3rd party cover from one of your other policies, insurance companies have closed that gap by insisting the 3rd party vehicle must have its own policy, and not be owned by you. Continuous Insurance Enforcement ensures that you'd have to insure it unless it's SORN.

I was a traffic cop for 23 years - you'll come unstuck if you try a dodge.