Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
Anders D

Japan 2012 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Auto Alaska White
Oil leak from air duct connection, after organ pipes

Hello Smile

I am brand new to LR and this forum.
Had my 08 FL2 2.2 D for abour 3 months and I so far adore the car..

I have been reading about this leak on previous posts and have also noticed a moist engine protective cover (underneath) and a small drop if I f.ex havent used the car for a week. My non dealer garage have looked at it and only generally identified the "breathing pipe" and the valve cover gasket.. It is now using a bit oil at longer trips so i recon this has now worsened

I am a bit confused now as the local Land Rover garage advised today, that this leak is actually from a clogged filter inside the valve cover (?) and oil being pushed inside the air intake and other places..

I have read on this forum that people have had similar issues resolved with a new jubilee clip right after the "organ pipe" on the air intake pipe, exactly where mine has a thin oil film at all times.

My questions are as follows:

- Is it normal with oil residue in this pipe?
- Is there a non serviceable filter inside the valve cover, that can only be changed with the cover?
- Will i get away with changing the clip or is there a seal inside that joint as well?

I was thinking of changing the clip and the valve cover gasket, but I was hoping that I wouldn't need a brand new cover (with a filter ?) as well.

Please advise Smile

Thank you,

Anders

Post #273710 25th Aug 2015 8:04 pm
turboextreme

United Kingdom 2014 Freelander 2 TD4 XS Manual Loire Blue

My freelander requires the oil to be topped every now and again as I always like it around the maximum mark.