« Advertise on Freel2.com

Home > Maintenance & Modifications > retrofit electric seats
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
trev74

United Kingdom 2010 Freelander 2 TD4 GS Manual Stornoway Grey
retrofit electric seats

I have a 2010 Freelander 2 td4 gs and as I live in the cold north (Scotland) would like to put heated if poss but electric seats into it currently it has bog standard cloth interior.
1) can I fit heated/electric seats?
2) which fl2 donor cars can I get the parts from?
3) will the fit straight in?
I am no Mechanic but can work my way round a car and usually fix them but could use some guidance sourcing and fitting if poss electric/heated seats and what parts I do actually need.
thanks

Post #344768 12th Mar 2018 8:12 pm
Vanny

United Kingdom 2013 Freelander 2 SD4 XS Auto Santorini Black

Have you had a look at the wiring diagram here;

http://www.freel2.com/forum/topic2943.html

Heated seats are controlled by the 'Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning' (HVAC) control panel which sends instructions by LIN BUS to the heat heater module (bolted to the underside of the heated seat). You'll need to find a HVAC panel that is the right age for the car AND has heated seat buttons in order to turn them on and off. You'll also need to supply power from the rear fuse box (means taking the rear seats out) to each seat heater control module, and a ground (which is a pretty short run to the body under each seat).

If your car has no existing heated seats then I suspect the wiring wont be pre fit to the car, but it might be worth having a look under the seat. I would expect wires for the seat belts and seat belt pre-tensioners.

Of course you'll then need to change the car config so that the HVAC panel knows it has heated seats to control.

Not easy peasey, but probably not too difficult, mostly nuts and bolts with a few lengths of wire to run.

Post #344776 12th Mar 2018 9:14 pm
Yorky Bob