Forum-Gallery-Shop-Sponsors

« Advertise on Freel2.com

Home > General > Welcome to Freel2.com - say hello here!
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 272 of 335 <123 ... 271272273 ... 333334335>
Print this entire topic · 
Yorky Bob

United Kingdom 2013 Freelander 2 TD4 GS Manual Firenze Red

45mip19lot wrote:
Hi, I am one of the Silver surfer brigade.

I recently purchased a Freelander 2 (57 plate) that had snapped the Timing Belt, and am now regretting it.

I do not know what they are like to drive yet as I cannot get it to go and hence have joined this Forum in the hope that someone can help me get it going.

I am a Chauffeur driver by profession and drive a Mercedes Viano.

Once a belt snaps you are into serious money. I would suggest If you need help to sort it you need to sell it on to someone with those skills as it will need loads of dosh to sort. No one is going to sort your car with that history easily I am afraid. FL2 MY10 TD4 GS traded in at 2 years
FL2 MY13 TD4 GS Current

Post #355752 28th Aug 2018 4:49 pm
JezzerTD4

United Kingdom 2008 Freelander 2 TD4 HSE Lux Auto Stornoway Grey

Ummm.. LR say 10 years or 150,000 so it was overdue, but does depend on the type of use.
A lot of heavy town driving or towing will reduce it.

Not as expensive to change as some Land Rovers, Discovery 3's and RR's can be as much as £1500... as it is an engine out job...

Its a Ford/Peugeot Engine and used in a lot of vehicles, including Transits, Defenders, Ford Rangers, Peugeot Vans etc... so will be a lot more reasonable, but I think (and stand corrected) the 2.2 TD4 is an 'invasive engine' i.e. the valves use the space the pistons use as they go up and down, so there is a likelihood the pistons and valves could collided and hence be damaged.

For your sake, hopefully not.....

Post #355755 28th Aug 2018 5:03 pm
Bobbster

United Kingdom 2013 Freelander 2 SD4 Dynamic Auto Mauritius Blue