Home > General > Freelander 2 Intermittent Starting Problem/Instrument Panel
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
andrewpillayza

South Africa 
Freelander 2 Intermittent Starting Problem/Instrument Panel

Hi Guys,

Andrew here from South Africa - So, i finally committed some time towards my FL2 TD4 in the last few months, i have purchased (likely a knock off Mongoose Pro with JLR SDD143) diagnostic tools to start working on my FL2 issues. This weekend i will see if i can pull all fault codes and post here for assistance (Theres a DOZEN of fault codes) and yet i can only think of communication issues/ can bus for some reason or some incompatible software issue.

Starting to feel like i purchased the wrong car as a project car to restore..... it has some serious electronic gremlins and i am clueless as to where to start - please be gentle on me, i am a Hobbyist that has an avid interest in mechanical and electronics/ car stuff Smile

PROBLEM - NO START/ Not even CRANK.
Vehicle will only start after being left for a few days (sometimes without disconnecting battery terminals!!)- even when i disconnect the battery terminals and hold them together for a few seconds, car still will not start - it seemingly wants to be left in peace so it can start whenever it wants to?

FOB in, Clutch down, Car starts (after a few days of being left alone). If i turn the car off right after, it will not start again. Engine warning light is on intermittently, intermittent steering column locked message (i have opened it, and sometimes it actuates, sometimes it doesnt - it is definitely not stuck open or closed). HDC System offline message appears almost permanently now alongside "Engine System Fault"and transmission fault now.