Forum-Gallery-Shop-Sponsors

« Advertise on Freel2.com

Home > Camping, Caravanning and Holidays > Freelander weight b+e licence caravan
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
freelander2002

England 2010 Freelander 2 SD4 HSE Auto Santorini Black
Freelander weight b+e licence caravan

Hi all,

Sorry if this has been covered before but as a potential caravan newbie I have a couple of issues I could do with some advice on.

The main question is what weight of caravan I can look at buying? I have a 2010 HSE auto which has a mass in service of 1967 in the log book. Is this the weight I need to work with when working out the whole 3500kg max weight etc?

Between the gross train weight, axle weight, kerb weights, MAM etc my head is slightly battered. Oh passed my test after 1997 by way.

Thanks in advance for any advice. Thumbs Up

Dave 2010 HSE SD4 in Santorini black
(Privacy glass, leather/heated seats, ICE, Verde AS M+S)

2002 Freelander GS TD4
(sold 2011)

Post #303146 22nd Jul 2016 10:44 pm
Mikey

Scotland 2012 Freelander 2 SD4 HSE Auto Baltic Blue

The standard driving licence issued to a driver passing his or her test today covers categories B and B1. This means you can drive a vehicle up to 3,500kg and tow a trailer up to 750kg behind it.

If you have a lighter car, you can then tow a heavier caravan, but the combined weight of the whole outfit cannot be more than 3,500kg. To complicate matters further, the MAM of your caravan in this instance must also be lighter than the unladen weight of your car

If you want to drive a larger outfit, you will need to pass an additional driving test to add the B+E category to your licence

Thumbs Up

Post #303151 23rd Jul 2016 6:23 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Send e-mail Reply with quote
Metropolis

United Kingdom 2015 Freelander 2 SD4 Metropolis LE Auto Loire Blue